Home → Show Information → Skillathon

The Oklahoma Youth Expo will host an event open to all 4-H and FFA members of Oklahoma: the OYE Skillathon. Students will be competing for $10,000 in scholarship money, which will be divided amongst the top five individuals in three age categories: junior, intermediate and senior. Age brackets will mirror the OYE showmanship age brackets. 4-H and FFA members do not have to exhibit at the OYE to be eligible for the Skillathon.

The OYE Skillathon will be a written exam based on cumulative knowledge over the four livestock species shown at OYE: beef, swine, sheep and goats. In order to qualify to take the test, ALL students must have completed certification in YCQA.

Information for certifying in YCQA can be found here: https://yqca.learngrow.io/Account/Login

This certification should adequately prepare youth for the exams. Certification AND registration must be complete by March 8th in order to participate—no exceptions.

On Monday, March 14 from 1:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. a unique test will be administered for each age division. The written tests will be administered in the Barn 3 Sales Pavilion. Students may begin their test at 4:30 p.m., however all tests will be picked up at 5:00 pm, regardless if the student is finished taking the test.

At 6:00 p.m., the top ten test scores for each division will be posted and a finals identification practicum will be administered at 7:00 p.m. in the Barn 3 Sales Pavilion.

Scholarships will be presented prior to the OYE Grand Drive on Thursday, March 17th in State Fair Arena. Winners must be wearing official dress for the presentation.

Once a 4-H or FFA member wins a division, they are not eligible to win that division again. Students do NOT have to show at OYE in order to participate. OYE reserves the right to disqualify any students. All decisions are final and no protests will be accepted. All tests are property of OYE and will not be taken from the testing site. No parents, agricultural instructors, or electronic devices including smart watches will be accepted or tolerated in the testing room.

2021 Winners

Senior Division:

1st: Jared Stone — $1,500

2nd: Braden Burns — $1,250

3rd: Elisa Allen — $1,000

4th: Maysen Garrett — $750

5th: Josie Doshier — $500


Intermediate Division:

1st: Ryne Crosthwait — $1,500

2nd: Sydney Melton — $1,000

3rd: Kenna Gay — $750

4th: Cooper Kline — $500

5th: Amey Haymaker — $250

Junior Division:

1st: Jaxon Pickens — $1200

2nd: Kade Henrichs — $750

3rd: Kenley Tolle — $500

4th: Sheridan Soules — $350

5th: Max Mason — $200

2019 Winners

Senior Division:

1st: Weston Houck — $1,500

2nd: Braden Burns — $1,250

3rd: Reagan Stephens — $1,000

4th: Pace Mittelstaedt — $750

5th: Trey Roberts — $500


Intermediate Division:

1st: Maysen Garrett — $1,500

2nd: Blake Janssen — $1,000

3rd: Kelsey Dowdle — $750

4th: Karson Osborn — $500

5th: Wyatt Jensen — $250

Junior Division:

1st: Amey Haymaker — $1200

2nd: McKenna Gay — $750

3rd: Claire Janssen — $500

4th: John Garrett — $350

5th: Maddison Wynd — $200

Study Guides


21 Land Rush Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73107


Oklahoma State Fairgrounds
Oklahoma City, OK




9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.